Romance, Comedy, & Bonnie Trachtenberg

 I want to welcome, author Bonnie Trachtenberg to my blog in celebration of her new release, Neurotically Yours. Join me as we get a little personal and dig a little deeper in this charming author’s mind!

Romance, Comedy, and Me

It was a natural fit; a foregone conclusion. After two decades of writing everything from health and fitness articles to advertising copy, children’s books and videos to book reviews, I was finally going to write a novel. Before I began, I knew there would be romance involved. Halfway through the prologue, I realized it would be funny. And somewhere along the way it became crystal clear to me that I had found my niche in a surprisingly effortless way. I would be an author of romantic comedies.

My first, Wedlocked, could easily have been written as a tragedy, as the true events that inspired it were hardly humorous at the time. At least not to me. It’s a story based on my first brief, disastrous marriage and subsequent honeymoon in hell. But as I wrote, the comedic nature of the story emerged. When I finished the book, I felt a catharsis like no other. Not only had I written my first full-length novel, but I’d purged my anger and sadness, and even managed to laugh a lot, too. When readers were also amused, I knew I’d made the right decision about how to tell my story. In fact, I had so much fun writing romance and comedy, I didn’t hesitate for a second when deciding what kind of book to write next.

My second novel, Neurotically Yours, was released just a few weeks ago. This one, less based in fact (although clearly informed by my experiences as a longtime single woman languishing in dating hell) could be nothing other than a romantic comedy. Most people cringe when recalling their bad dates and terrible relationships, but I took a different tack. I turned those experiences into something productive, something that others could relate to and giggle about in solidarity. Anyone who feels they have spent a bit too long on the dating scene, or who doesn’t have fond memories of it, should empathize with my heroine’s struggles.

I know that romance in itself will always be a huge part of my books, as it has enthralled me in every form since my chil

dhood. I couldn’t ever NOT write a book that had a romantic story at its core—nor would I want to. Love and laughter is a heady combination, so what better way for a writer to spend her days?

Bonnie Trachtenberg is the author of the recently released romantic comedy, Neurotically Yours: A Novel and the award-winning, bestselling book Wedlocked: A Novel. She writes a monthly relationship and advice column for LoveaHappyEnding.com. Bonnie was senior writer and copy chief at Book-of-the-Month Club and has written seven children’s book adaptations. She has also written for three newspapers and penned countless magazine articles. She lives in New York with her husband, four cats and a dog.

You can learn more about Bonnie and read her blog at http://www.BonnieTrachtenberg.com.

Read her relationship column at http://loveahappyending.com/editor-bonnie-trachtenberg/

Find her on Facebook: http://www.Facebook.com/BonnieTrachtenberg

Follow her on Twitter at http://twitter.com/#!/writebrainedny

Buy Neurotically Yours on Amazon: http://amzn.to/HY4PyF

Buy Neurotically Yours at Barnes and Noble: http://bit.ly/IcWr0M

Buy Wedlocked at Amazon: http://ning.it/ovIMiw

Buy Wedlocked at Barnes and Noble: http://ning.it/pPRGvC

One thought on “Romance, Comedy, & Bonnie Trachtenberg

  1. That’s great that you know exactly what you want to write and what feels good. I had the same struggle. I LOVE to read romance, but I just can’t write it. So I stuck with humorous women’s fiction where romance goes wrong…but in a good way.

Leave a Reply

