Interview With Author Stacy Eaton

Welcome Stacy Eaton, author of the My Blood Runs Blue series!

I asked Stacy some questions and here’s what she had to say:

Is Stacy Eaton your real name or a pseudonym?

Well…. It’s a pseudonym and it isn’t.  Actually Stacy Eaton is me, a
part of me anyway.  It’s just not the name that most people know me by.
Because of my job in law enforcement, I decided to separate myself just
a little bit and put these two names together.

What time of day do you like to write?

Normally I will write at any time of the day that I have time, but I find that I am most productive early morning.  When I get up and my house is quiet and it’s just me, music and my laptop, I get the best ideas and put them down.  The writing comes when I have the time to actually to sit and put it all together. A lot of it also depends on my work schedule.  Since I work rotating shifts – when I am working night shifts, I tend to stay up later at night on my days off and get a lot done then.

Coffee or tea?

 Coffee –always coffee!!!!  My addiction… pure and simple.  I love lavored coffees and flavored creamers. My favorite is a chocolate coffee with a chocolate raspberry creamer in it.  Although I love the holidays when the Peppermint Mocha flavored creamer comes out.  I easily brew 2 pots a day when I am home.

Is your glass 1/2 full or 1/2 empty?

 My glass is half full and rising quickly!  I am at a point in my life where life is good – and I am working towards filling that glass.  I know from time to time, the glass might tip a bit and spill, but I’ll pick it up, clean up the mess and then start filling it back up!

What are you reading right now?

 As of the date of this interview (October 1st) I have 2 books that I am
currently reading… The first one is Here, Home, Hope by Kaira Rouda.  The second book is the fourth book of a quartet by John Walker called God’s Soldiers.

I tend to read at least 2-3 books a week – so this list is always changing and I keep it updated on Goodreads.

You have two My Blood Runs Blue novels.  Can you tell us a little more about them?

 Sure, I’d love too! My Blood Runs Blue is the first in the series. It was also my first book published and it came out on April 5, 2011.  The second, Blue Blood for Life was published on September 30, 2011.

It is a Paranormal Romance Mystery series weaving the mysteries of vampires and the real world of law enforcement together.  The lead character is Officer Kristin Greene and her world gets pulled into a tailspin in book 1.  She gets pulled into the vampire world and
has to make some big decisions.  In Book 2, Kristin is back along with several other characters from book 1.  She goes through a whole lot of different changes and choices in Blue Blood.

Readers who enjoy the paranormal will enjoy the vampire world, while those who like crime and suspense will find they can really get into it, even if they don’t normally read paranormal genres.  I have found it pretty cool that a lot of my readers are men and they have highly enjoyed it.

Book 1 also spends a lot of time bringing the three main characters to life and giving a history, while book 2 really digs deep into the normal world of policing.

What was the hardest part about writing your latest My Blood Runs Blue novel?

My fingers wouldn’t type as fast as my mind worked! Lol…  Actually, this series has been very easy to write.  The first book in the series only took me 9 weeks to write. The second book took 11 and it is 40,000 words longer. Both of these books just kind of flew out of me from my mind to my fingers into my laptop.

I do think one of the hardest things to do is to wait… wait for the editor to get back to you with your edits, waiting for the formatting to be done, waiting for the graphics to be done.  I am a control freak by nature, so
when I have to wait on others to do something, it gets me a bit stressed.

Were any of the characters in your novels based on you or anyone you know?

Hahahahahah– yep just about every single one of them!  Well, except the bad guys… I can’t say I modeled them after anyone because then people would start to wonder who I didn’t like in my life.

Officer Kristin Greene is me… plain and simple… Anyone that knows me and reads these books knows it’s me.  Julian and Alex are kind of a mixture of people, some of the best traits of several men I know.  Kristin’s partner in the book is Mick – and yes that is my real partner – but with a different name.

In book 2 – Kristin’s three best friends enter the story – and well…. Yes they are real too! I had a great time bringing them into the book.  Livy plays a big part in book 2 and you can expect that she will be a much bigger part of book 3.

 

What made you write in this genre?

 In 2010, I had surgery and had to stay in bed for a couple months.  While there I got talked into reading the Twilight series.  Reading that opened my eyes up to the paranormal world.  From there – I branched out to many different paranormal books and found a love for the strange, sexy world that vampires could create.

When the idea came to me, I was at work. I was patrolling my township late at night. I had gotten out of my patrol car to stretch my legs in one of our parks.  While I stood there, I saw what appeared to be eyes watching me.  It made me wonder what really watches us at night.

As I continued to drive around my township that night, the idea came to mind. What would it be like if vampires did exist and if they helped law enforcement?  The plot line was born and it just came from there.

Which of your novels is your favorite and why?

 While My Blood Runs Blue was my first novel published, I have to admit that I love Blue Blood for Life.  I love the way Kristin has to deal with things, I like how I pulled in the everyday things law enforcement has to do.  I enjoyed showing the humanity that humans and vampires alike could have, and the romance… well…it is hot in book 2!  That’s about all I
can say of that part right now.

What project are you working on now?

Currently, I have 4 other projects going on.  While I have a good idea of the plot line for Book 3 of the series, I have not done much more on that except to work on notes.

“Liveon” is another novel I am working on.  It steps out of the paranormal genre into more of a contemporary romance between a detective and a movie star after being thrown together after a couple of ironic twists of fate. I’m about half way through with this one and hope to have it out Spring or Summer of 2012.

“Whether I’ll Live or Die” is a new novel that has my attention right now.  This is a very emotional and rough fiction novel dealing with the effects of domestic violence from a victim’s point of view and also from the point of view of law enforcement.  Writing this book brings out feelings and memories I have long since put behind me.  As a survivor of Domestic Violence myself, I have tried to put the feelings and emotions and lessons I have learned into this book.  While I do put some of myself into this book, it is a fictional story and addresses the problems we face in our society.

The fourth project is one I am doing with another author.  Author John Walker and I originally partnered to collaborate on a novel together. As we started this novel, we found we had so much to incorporate that it has now become 2 books, if not a complete series.  The working title of that is Blue Haze.

To learn more about Stacy and her books you can visit her on her website at www.stacyeatoncom.fatcow.com & her blog www.stacyeaton.blogspot.coms

Stacy’s book are for purchase at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Outskirts Press, Inc.

Join Stacy and 35 other authors for the 99 Cent Book Event, in  celebration of the release of award winning, bestselling author Melissa Foster’s COME BACK TO ME, Tues., Nov. 1 – Thurs., Nov 3. ALL BOOKS 99 CENTS, ebook giveaways, and more! www.womensliterarycafe.com

9 thoughts on “Interview With Author Stacy Eaton

  1. Wonderful interview! I love learning about authors’ back stories and this one is especially interesting due to the law enforcement tie in. (I almost married an FBI agent) And I can totally relate to Stacy’s frustration about waiting. Drives me batty. Guess I’m a bit of a control freak too! Shhhh. Don’t tell anyone. 😉

  2. I’m going to admit it, I’m not a fan of vampire books as most of them tread the same worn plot lines that we already know too well from past movies and books, but Stacy Eaton is an exception. Her law enforcement background adds a real feeling of authenticity to her Blue Blood series. I’d totally recommend either one of her two books to anyone looking for a fresh take on the genre!

  3. Great interview, TM!

    Stacy, you’re inspiring! I’m jealous that you can read so fast! And you personify the maxim: “Write what you know.” Great that you tapped into your experience as an officer. I should think about that. I give NO thought whatsoever to my experience as a psychologist!

    On the cup controversy: it’s all the way full, half with liquid, half with air, or so the zen masters tell us.

    Best wishes to both of you for your continued success!

    Peter
    Writing as AR Silverberry
    Award-winning author of Wyndano’s Cloak
    http:www.arsilverberry.com

Leave a Reply

