My High School Soundtrack

The other day I was listening to the radio and a song came on, which brought with it a flood of memories.  You know the type, the songs from your past, which when heard have the power to transport you back to a different time and place.  I love when this happens.  I love the power music has to hold with it emotions and/or memories from a specific time in our lives.  So I got to thinking that I wanted to take a little jaunt into my past.  My highschool years (eek, I know, right?  Why would anyone want to do that!)  I decided to compile a soundtrack of some of the most popular and memorable songs from that four year time period (1996-2000 to be exact) because I thought it would be fun and…well, I like making soundtracks.  There are probably some songs that were more popular than the ones I listed, “The Macarena” for example (ugh!) but I decided to go with the ones that remind me the most of those years when I hear them.  The songs are in order of year and am going to list them below prior to the youtube soundtrack.  Hope this brings back memories for you as well!

  1. “Ironic” by Alanis Morissette (1996)
  2. “Nobody Knows” by The Tony Rich Project (1996) – I’m not sure why, but this song reminds me of so many things from that time.  Teenage angst, lol.
  3. “Glycerine” by Bush (1996)
  4. “Don’t Speak” by No Doubt (1996)
  5. “Mo Money, Mo Problems” by Notorius B.I.G. (1997)
  6. “Honey” by Mariah Carey (1997) – back when she was hot.
  7. “You Make Me Wanna” by Usher (1997)
  8. “Criminal” by Fiona Apple (1997)
  9. “I Want You Back” by N Sync (1998) – hehe this video cracks me up.
  10. “Too Close” by Next (1998)
  11. “Truly Madly Deeply” by Savage Garden (1998)
  12. “Hows It Going To Be” by Third Eye Blind (1998)
  13. “…Baby One More Time” by Britney Spears (1999) – this was pre-freak-out.
  14. “Slide” by Goo Goo Dolls (1999)
  15. “Livin’ La Vida Loca” by Ricky Martin (1999) – I know, I know, but it’s memorable, bringing with it flashbacks of working in the bakery at McGinnis Sisters
  16. “Genie In A Bottle” by Christina Aguilera (1999)
  17. “Kiss Me” by Sixpence None The Richer (1999) – reminds me of my junior prom.
  18. “Smooth” (feat. Rob Thomas) by Santana (1999)
  19. “I Walk Alone” by Oleander (1999) – there was a while when I was obsessed with Oleander.  I would listen to this Cd over and over…
  20. “I Wanna Know” by Joe (2000)
  21. “Bent” by Matchbox Twenty (2000)
  22. “Everything You Want” by Vertical Horizon (2000)
  23. “Show Me The Meaning Of Being Lonely” by The Backstreet Boys (2000) – Did you really think I would make a list without them?  It was the 90’s after all.
4 thoughts on “My High School Soundtrack

  1. I was so going to say “Ironic” before I even saw your list. And it’s the top of the list! I graduated from HS in 2002 🙂 Oh my goodness, “Truly, Madly, Deeply” was “my song” with my “8th grade boyfriend” lol. That’s hilarious. I will always adore “Kiss Me”. Love that song!

    I’m glad I read this post. Good times 🙂 I was going to message you on Goodreads but I’m glad I came to your blog. How are things going? Are you working on a WIP, I can’t remember! I can’t wait to dive into your book. Ever since I read recently that Nicholas Sparks reads over 100 books a year, and that “writers are readers”, I’ve decided to make it a point to read every day and “read more”. I’m excited about reading yours. You have great reviews on Goodreads!

    My WIP #2 chick lit book will either come out in November or February. I’m still interested in your idea about swapping blurbs. I think it’s a great idea :). Lisa Lim and Sibel Hodge did that with their books, I just found out.

    • Things are good. I am currently working on a new novel, which I too am hoping I can have out by the end of November. If you’re still interested in swapping excerpts, let me know when you’re ready because I would definately still be up for it. Thanks!

  2. How fun!!! I’m basically the opposite of a hoarder—a purger, perhaps. I SO wish I’d kept all my high school mix tapes. My husband bought something to convert tapes to MP3s, but my tapes are all gone. 😦

    • I wish I had your problem, but getting rid of things and organization have never been my strengths. Although, I’m not too bad at keeping things, especially since we’ve moved around a lot over the past 7 years…

Leave a Reply

